AppraisalAppraisal

ACCA Paper Bill Grading Standards

Forward

ACCA is the first professional coin and bill appraisal agency outside the USA that is not part of the American System. Its level of research and professionalism, with regards to Asian coins, has reached a definite level of scale and developmental potential. In recent years it has provided appraisal services to numerous Asian collectors and satisfied their needs, such that even national level agencies, including courts, customs, crime investigation agencies and investigation bureaus, employ ACCA as their judicial 3rd party appraisal unit. Also, for its paper bill appraisal division, ACCA has completely defined its 100-point grading standard back in 2008, when the company was first established. But because the ACCA Operation Team has extremely high standards of quality management with respect to how it would retain the paper bills’ original conditions, and because the available sealing materials and standard procedures have not yet reached the standards set by its founder, Mr. 簡任賢, it decided to go through more than three years of research and development. As part of this process, it even hired SGS (the inspection company) to complete a series of material analysis, until the sealing process finally reached the high standards set by ACCA itself. And it is owing to this careful and disciplined attitude that the paper bill’s lifespans may be lengthened and stabilized. This is distinctly different from the motley crew of appraisal companies typically found in the market, who are only interested in seizing appraisal fees and not in whether the materials used will affect the bills’ integrity down the line. At ACCA, this sort of grand vision and determination has never changed. What has changed are just certain greedy and unscrupulous vendors, suppliers, and even collectors.

Thanks to the rise of the Chinese collectors’ market and constantly improving forging techniques, the need for appraisal services has quickly grown. This in turn has encouraged certain opportunistic sellers and amateur coin packaging companies to, through sales, marketing, and vendor partnerships, establish numerous unprofessional appraisal agencies. This resulted in a variety of incidents involving imitation, vague definitions, price wars, and players acting as judges, seriously hurting the infantile Chinese collectors market, and even the entire Asian collectors market. Therefore, ACCA has the responsibility—in fact the duty—to maintain its leadership position as the role model in Asia’s appraisal field. Aside from nurturing outstanding appraisal talents, ACCA must also continue to provide vendors and collectors with good quality products and comprehensive post sale services. It refuses to take shortcuts and destroy its own future, because appraisal work is a “perpetual business”. One must realize this fact, or be eliminated by the market through one’s own doing. Look at America, for example, where coin appraisal began. In its prime there were more than 200 appraisal companies. But after 30~40 years of evolutionary selection, only 80 some companies remain. Perhaps a consumer might ask in surprise, how is there so many? The main reason is because at present, America is still the world’s biggest market when it comes to coin trading, with purchases and sales amounting to nearly half the global volume, which is why there is such a significant appraisal need.

When it comes to paper bill appraisal, America’s PMG is still the name that represents size and fame. But PMG’s grading system continues to use the 70-point grading point system used by the American for coins. So just for this ACCA completed a lengthy market research, conducting numerous surveys with coin vendors, collectors and the general population. The result is that it decided to compose a new grading system that is suitable for collectors all over the world: a 100-point standard. This standard was first brought forth by implemented by ACCA, and it is believed that it will become very popular in the near future. The most important advantage and virtue of the 100-point system is that it brings the decimal system to numerical grading. A perfect score of 100 is easy for collectors to understand and easy for beginners to learn. This systematic grading standard will far surpass the 70-point coin grading system. Perhaps supporters of the American system would beg to disagree, but ACCA will make great efforts to make the 100-point system the standard in the industry, and everyone is asked to support and spread it far and wide.

ACCA Paper Bill Appraisal Grading Explanation Table

ACCA PMG PMG Details ACCA Details
100 CU 70 One Hundred Gem Uncirculated The best possible product, fresh from the printer and flawless in appearance. All areas are symmetrical, all colors uniformly distributed, with not a single errant drop of ink to be found.
99-98-97 CU 67–69 Superb Gem Uncirculated A premium level product, fresh from the printer with no flaws other than either face of the bill possibly having factory issues such as soft marks from factory bundling, small ink drops, and paper pulp.
96-95 CU 65–66 Choice Uncirculated Brand new and never circulated. The bill has 4 sharp corners, clean and shiny faces, no water stains, and no yellow stains (except for 95 no EPQ, which allows for very slight yellow stains). Within focus areas, there may be some dust marks, ink marks, or small foreign matters in the paper pulp, visible to the naked eye. But there are no other flaws
94-93 CU 63–64 Choice Uncirculated Brand new and never circulated. But due to either improper storage or extended aging, there is some very slight color fading or yellow staining. There are no water stains that take the luster from the surface. The 4 corners may have some extremely light wear, possibly with slight yellowing or blackening at the tips. Original ink marks are permitted, but any fold marks, even slight ones, are not.
92-91 CU 60–62 Uncirculated Brand new and never circulated. But due to either improper storage or extended aging, there is some very slight color fading or yellow staining. There may be some water stains that take the luster from the surface. The 4 corners may have some light wear, possibly with slight yellowing or blackening at the tips. Original ink marks are permitted, as are very slight fold marks. Compared to 93~94, the bill surface is not as clean and bright.
90-88-85-82-80 AU 50, 53, 55, 58 About Uncirculated Has gone through light or extremely light use. The paper is still stiff and not soft (includes cleaned bills), and have some obvious fold marks, but overall the bill face is unstained. Because the bill has been used, the following conditions may exist: fold marks at the corners (that do not extend to the design pattern), slight color fading, needle hole (90); 1~3 fold marks extend to the design pattern (88); surface is undamaged, but secondary focus areas may have multiple fold or wrinkle marks; has fold or wrinkle marks that are more serious than found in 85~88 (82); has 1 or 2 fairly serious fold or wrinkle marks (80).
75-70 XF 40, 45 Extremely Fine Has gone through light to normal use. There may be numerous conditions on the bill surface as a result, and these may include: obvious fold marks, light staining, and (water/chemical) cleaning. But the entire surface is intact, with no rips at the edges. The 4 corners may be fairly worn. 75 points: may include a few serious fold or wrinkle marks, and light staining, with overall appearance at better than average. 70 points: may include serious triple folding marks, with larger pinholes or moth bites.
65-60 VF 30, 35 Very Fine Has gone through a medium level of use. The bill surface has been touched and passed around numerous times. Compared to 70~75 pointers, the overall surface is not as clean. Conditions may include: medium level staining, softened paper, cracks at the edges that may extend to the design pattern (including cut bills and repaired bills). Main focus areas show obvious signs of having been used, the center area may have holes, and the bill may or may not have been repaired.
55-50 F 25, 20 Fine Has gone through medium to heavy use. The bill has experienced extended circulation, and the 4 corners have clearly worn away. There are numerous folds or wrinkles, and cracks from the edges have extended to the main design pattern. The bill surface may be dirty or faded, but one can still identify details from the bill’s design pattern. The paper is soft, has a hole in the center, and may be been repaired. 50~60% of the bill’s picture design can be identified.
45-40 VG 15, 12 Very Good Has gone through heavy usage. The surface is heavily worn and may show conditions that include: multiple fold or wrinkle marks, stained surfaces, medium fading, rips at the edges with some parts missing, worn rounded corners, and small missing portions. The bill may have been repaired. 40~50% of the bill’s picture design can be identified.
35-30 G 8, 6 Good Has gone through heavy usage. The surface is heavily worn and may show conditions that include: multiple fold or wrinkle marks, stained surfaces, serious fading, rips at the edges with some parts missing, worn rounded corners, holes in the middle of the bill, and possible missing portions. The bill may have been repaired. 30~50% of the bill’s picture design can be identified, and the overall integrity of the bill is inferior to 40~45 pointers.
25-20 AG 4 About Good Has gone through severe use. The paper surface is severely worn and may show conditions that include: multiple fold or wrinkle marks, stained surfaces, serious fading, multiple rips at the edges with parts missing, worn rounded corners, holes in the middle of the bill, and missing portions. The bill may have been repaired. 30~40% of the bill’s picture design can be identified.
15-10 AG2 Poor Has gone through extremely severe use. Bills in such conditions are very rare. The surface is extremely worn and may exhibit the following conditions: multiple serious folds or wrinkles, extremely stained surfaces, extreme fading, severely ripped at the edges with numerous parts missing, worn out corners, holes in the middle of the bill, and missing portions. The bill may have been repaired, but it is difficult to recognize focus area patterns. 20~30% of the bill’s picture design can be identified.
5 PR 1 Very Poor Has gone through extremely severe use. Bills belonging to this lowest of all grades are extremely rare. The surface is extremely worn and may exhibit the following conditions: multiple serious folds or wrinkles, extremely stained surfaces, extreme fading, severely ripped at the edges with numerous parts missing, worn out corners, holes in the middle of the bill, and missing portions. The bill may have been repaired, but it is difficult to recognize focus area patterns. Only 10~30% of the bill’s picture design can be identified.
Grading English Definition
100 One Hundred Gem Unc
99、98、97 Superb Gem Unc
96、95 Gem Uncirculated
94、93 Choice Uncirculated
92、91 Uncirculated
90 Choice About Unc
88、85、82、80 About Uncirculated
75 Choice Extremely Fine
70 Extremely Fine
65 Choice Very Fine
60 Very Fine
55、50 Fine
45、40 Very Good
35、30 Good
25、20 About Good
15、10 Poor
5 Very Poor

ACCA will add English explanations according to paper bill conditions. Relevant conditions are explained below:

Paper Bill Condition English Explanation Marked as NET
Cleaned Bill has gone through cleaning. NET
Displaced Bill has a displaced or tilted design.
Faded Certain areas are faded. NET
Folded There are fold or wrinkle marks.
Ink Flood Bill is ink marked, has excessive ink, or was applied to overly wet ink.
Limp Bill is used and wrinkled.
Mark Bill is marked or labelled.
Moth-eaten Bill is partially eaten by moth or other insects. NET
No Decision Inconclusive, due to insufficient data.
Not Genuine Bill is forged and not genuine.
Pinhole Bill has one or more pinholes. NET
Rusted Bill is somehow rusted. NET
Scrawl Bill has been written or drawn on, typically with random writing or pictures.
Split Bill has been damaged with rips, holes or splits.
Stained Bill is stained, has stain marks, or is dirty.
Adhesive Bill is adhered with tape or other adhesive. NET
Thinned Bill has been thinned. NET
Tooled Bill has been tooled, repaired. NET
Trimmed Bill has been trimmed.
印製廠 英文縮寫
美國鈔票公司 ABNC
中央信託局印製廠 CTPA
財政部印刷局 BEPP
中央印製廠 CPFA
中央印製廠台北廠 CPFT
中央印製廠上海廠 CPFS
第一印刷廠 FPFT
中國大業公司 TYPC
中華書局有限公司 CHBA
英國華德路鈔票公司 W&S
美商保安鈔票公司 SBNC
德納羅鈔票公司 TDLR
大東書局有限公司 DTBC
行政委員會印刷局 EPCO
華威印刷有限公司 WPC
香港新華德利有限公司 HHEC
外砂萬益銀莊 HKPA
大業印刷公司 TYPC
西北印刷廠 NWPF

Appraisal評級鑑定

紙鈔分級

前言

ACCA身為全世界除了美國以外,第一家非美國系統的專業錢幣、紙鈔鑑定機構,對於亞洲錢幣鑑定領域的研究與專業已具備一定程度之規模與發展淺力,近年來提供了亞洲地區眾多收藏家的鑑定服務需求,乃至於法院、海關、刑事局、調查局等國家級單位,皆委託ACCA為第三方鑑定公正單位。而對於紙鈔鑑定部門,ACCA亦早在2008年成立之初,就已經完成100分標準制的分級定義,只是礙於ACCA經營團隊對於保存紙鈔的材質品管要求極高,封裝材質與標準流程未能達到創辦人簡任賢先生設定的標準,所以經過三年多的研究開發,過程中更委託SGS檢驗公司做了一系列的材質分析,終於達到ACCA設定的高標準封裝流程,也因為ACCA如此嚴謹的態度,才能延長、穩定紙鈔保存的壽命,決不像仿間或一些良莠不齊的鑑定公司,只想儘快搶得鑑定服務費,而不管未來材質的變化是否影響到紙鈔的完整性,這一點的堅持與大方向,多年來ACCA始終都沒有改變,改變的只是一部分貪得無厭的不肖廠商、商家甚或收藏家。

由於中國收藏市場的崛起,以及造假技術不斷的提升,進而造就了鑑定服務的需求也快速成長,也讓一些投機取巧的賣家、不專業的錢幣塑膠包裝公司,透過行銷包裝、與商家勾結等手段,成立許多不專業的鑑定機構,仿冒、定義不明、削價競爭,球員兼裁判等情事不斷發生,嚴重傷害到中國剛剛起步的收藏市場,甚至是全亞洲收藏市場,因此,ACCA有責任,也有義務,持續在亞洲地區的鑑定領域當領頭羊,除了培育優良的鑑定人才之外,還要持續給予收藏家與商家好的商品品質,完善的售後服務,決不會投機取巧、自毀長城,因為鑑定這項工作是要”永續經營”的,必須要用心體會,否則最後都會因為”人謀不臧”而被市場淘汰。好比錢幣鑑定所的濫觴:美國,全盛時期多達200多家鑑定公司,最後經過3、40年的去蕪存菁,目前尚存80多家,或許 消費者會驚訝的問,怎麼有這麼多家?主要原因是美國現階段依然是世界錢幣交易買賣的最大國,每年交易買賣的數量占全世界將近1/2,所以鑑定需求才會如此龐大。

而紙鈔鑑定目前世界上還是以美國PMG稍具名氣與規模,不過PMG的分級系統延用美國錢幣鑑定的70級分, 這一點ACCA經過長期的問卷與市場調查,在錢幣商、收藏家、一般百姓的見解當中,決定另外編寫一套適合全世界收藏家的分級標準:100分標準制,這也是ACCA最早提出與執行的標準,相信在不久的將來,這套標準將會非常普及。100分制的一個最重要的優點與優勢,就是將數字分級十進位化,滿分100分讓收藏家淺顯易懂且容易上手,這套分級標準將遠遠超越70分的錢幣套用分級,或許美國系統的擁護者無法苟同,但是ACCA將會努力使100分制成為市場主流,敬請支持與推廣。

ACCA紙鈔鑑定等級說明表

ACCA PMG PMG Details ACCA Details
100 CU 70 One Hundred Gem Uncirculated 印刷廠剛出廠之最上乘等級,無可挑剔的品相,所有區域皆對稱、顏色均勻、無任何多墨斑點。
99-98-97 CU 67–69 Superb Gem Uncirculated 印刷廠剛出廠之上乘等級,紙鈔正反面可能出現原廠綑條造成之軟痕、墨水點、紙漿等非人為因素狀態,無其他任何瑕疵。
94-93 CU 63–64 Choice Uncirculated 全新未流通過,但是因保存不當或是時間久遠,表面有極輕微的褪色或黃斑,沒有水漬痕造成表面失去光澤現象。紙鈔四角允許極輕微之磨損,四角票尖可能有微黃或微黑,允許紙幣原有的墨漬,不允許有極輕微之軟折痕。
92-91 CU 60–62 Uncirculated 全新未流通過,但因為時間久遠或保存不當,表面有輕度的褪色或黃斑,可能有受過水漬造成表面失去光澤現象。紙鈔四角允許輕微之磨損,四角票尖可能有微黃或微黑,允許紙幣原有的墨漬,允許極輕微之軟折痕。與93~94相比,票面整體不夠乾淨光亮。
90-88-85-82-80 AU 50, 53, 55, 58 About Uncirculated 輕微至極輕微流通使用過,紙張仍堅挺不垂軟(包含下水票),有些較明顯折痕,整體票面無汙染。紙鈔表面因流通使用過,而產生下列各種可能狀態:邊角折痕(但沒有延伸到設計圖案)、表面有輕度的褪色、針孔(90);有1~3個折痕延伸至設計圖案(88);紙鈔表面無破損、次焦點區域允許多處折痕或皺折(85);與85~88級分相比,紙鈔有較嚴重折痕或皺折(82);紙鈔有1~2處較嚴重之折痕或皺折(80)。
75-70 XF 40, 45 Extremely Fine 輕微至已流通使用過,紙鈔表面可能有多種流通過程產生之狀態,例如:明顯折痕、輕微污染、下水票,但整體票面仍然完整,邊緣無撕裂痕,四角有較嚴重磨損。75級分:可以包含幾個嚴重折痕或皺折、輕微汙染;整體美觀性高於平均水平。70級分:可能包含嚴重之三折痕、較大面積之針孔或蟲蛀。
65-60 VF 30, 35 Very Fine 已流通至中度流通,紙鈔表面經多次觸摸流通,與70~75級分相比,整體表面潔淨度更差,可能包含:中度污染、紙張垂軟、邊緣有裂痕,可能延伸觸及設計圖案﹙包含裁切票、修補票﹚,主要焦點區域都有明顯使用過之痕跡,紙鈔中央可能出現破孔,可能經過修補。
55-50 F 25, 20 Fine 中度至重度已流通,紙鈔表面經過長時間流通過,四角已明顯磨圓,多處折痕或皺折、邊緣裂痕已延伸觸及設計圖案;紙鈔表面可能髒污或已褪色,但紙鈔設計圖案細節仍可辨識,紙張垂軟,紙鈔中心有破孔,可能有經過修補。紙鈔圖案可辨識度約50~60%。
45-40 VG 15, 12 Very Good 重度已流通,紙鈔表面已嚴重磨損,表面可能包含下列狀態:多處折痕或皺折、票面髒汙、中度褪色、邊緣撕裂並有缺損、四角磨圓、無大面積缺損、可能有經過修補。紙鈔圖案可辨識度約40~50%。
35-30 G 8, 6 Good 重度已流通,紙鈔表面已嚴重磨損,表面可能包含下列狀態:多處折痕或皺折、票面髒汙、重度褪色、邊緣撕裂並有缺損、四角磨圓、紙鈔中心有破孔、可能有部份面積缺損、可能有經過修補。紙鈔圖案可辨識度約30~50%,整體票面完整度較40~45級分稍差。
25-20 AG 4 About Good 嚴重已流通,紙鈔表面磨損非常嚴重,表面可能包含下列狀態:多處折痕或皺折、票面髒汙、重度褪色、邊緣多次撕裂並有缺損、四角磨圓、紙鈔中心有破孔、有部份面積缺損、可能有經過修補。紙鈔圖案可辨識度約30~40%。
15-10 AG2 Poor 極嚴重流通,此級分紙鈔非常稀少,紙鈔表面磨損極度嚴重,表面可能包含下列狀態:多處嚴重折痕或皺折、票面極髒汙、極重度褪色、邊緣嚴重撕裂與缺損、四角磨鈍、紙鈔中心有破孔、部份面積缺損、可能有經過修補、焦點區域圖案辨識有難度。紙鈔圖案可辨識度約20~30%。
5 PR 1 Very Poor 極嚴重流通,此最低級分紙鈔非常稀少,紙鈔表面磨損極度嚴重,表面可能包含下列狀態:多處嚴重折痕或皺折、票面極髒汙、極重度褪色、邊緣嚴重撕裂與缺損、四角磨鈍、紙鈔中心有破孔、大部份面積缺損、可能有經過修補、焦點區域圖案辨識有難度。紙鈔圖案可辨識度約10~30%。
等級 英文定義
100 One Hundred Gem Unc
99、98、97 Superb Gem Unc
96、95 Gem Uncirculated
94、93 Choice Uncirculated
92、91 Uncirculated
90 Choice About Unc
88、85、82、80 About Uncirculated
75 Choice Extremely Fine
70 Extremely Fine
65 Choice Very Fine
60 Very Fine
55、50 Fine
45、40 Very Good
35、30 Good
25、20 About Good
15、10 Poor
5 Very Poor

ACCA會根據紙鈔表面狀態加註英文說明,其相關狀態說明如下:

紙鈔狀態 中文說明 加註NET
Cleaned 清洗 NET
Damp 潮濕 NET
Displaced 移位 (Displaced Design 圖案歪斜)
Embrittlement 脆化、脆裂 NET
Faded 褪色 (Partly Faded 局部褪色) NET
Folded 折痕、皺折
Glued 膠合、黏合 NET
Ink Flood 墨漬、輸墨過多、印刷濕潤過度
Limp 使用過皺皺的
Mark 記號、符號
Moth-eaten 蟲蛀、蟲咬 NET
No Decision 無結論、資料不足
Not Genuine 偽造、非真實的
Pinhole 針孔 NET
Rusted 生鏽的 NET
Scrawl 文字圖案書寫、塗鴉、潦草亂塗亂寫
Split 破損、破裂(撕裂)、破洞
Stain 有汙點、痕跡的;髒汙
Adhesive、Taped 被膠帶黏貼的、沾黏物 NET
Thinned 變薄 NET
Tooled、Repaired 修補 NET
Trimmed 裁切過的
印製廠 英文縮寫
美國鈔票公司 ABNC
中央信託局印製廠 CTPA
財政部印刷局 BEPP
中央印製廠 CPFA
中央印製廠台北廠 CPFT
中央印製廠上海廠 CPFS
第一印刷廠 FPFT
中國大業公司 TYPC
中華書局有限公司 CHBA
英國華德路鈔票公司 W&S
美商保安鈔票公司 SBNC
德納羅鈔票公司 TDLR
大東書局有限公司 DTBC
行政委員會印刷局 EPCO
華威印刷有限公司 WPC
香港新華德利有限公司 HHEC
外砂萬益銀莊 HKPA
大業印刷公司 TYPC
西北印刷廠 NWPF